Remembering the Amazon

3 Oct

This sunset was one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen in my life, and the fact that I was witnessing it as I padeled up the Amazon river in a canoe only made it all the more amazing.  We were somewhere outside of Iquitos, Peru, deep in the jungle, getting ready to travel the whole Amazon river by boat, unsure of what lay ahead and yet so deeply inspired by what we saw around us.  As the sun slowly drifted down across the horizon, the jungle came alive with the sounds of a million forms of life, the stars exploded across the sky, and my heart stopped beating for just a moment as I contemplated just how much beauty exists in the world.

As I try to mentally prepare myself for another long week of work “inside the box,” I’m remembering all the incredible journeys I’ve taken over the years.  My odyssey years, as I call them, appear to be coming to an end, but that doesn’t mean I can’t revisit all the memories from my travels.

2 Responses to “Remembering the Amazon”

  1. friend October 3, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    cherish your memories–i love the photo and your sharing your moments on the amazon. The Amazon has now become so much more than a word and a photo. The world is so amazing in so many ways. Just think at one point in time philadelphia and manhattan were wilderness. ay carumba what happened!?!

  2. Syed Housein April 17, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. Thank you for sharing.

    -Syed-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

