The Bucket List

16 Oct

“What do you want to do before you die?”

It’s a simple question, but sometimes I wonder how many people really have a good answer for it.  I have a million responses, and my journals are bursting at the seams with list upon list of things I want to do, places I want to go, dreams I want to fulfill, and languages I want to learn. But there is one list I always go back to.

A few years ago, when my best friend and I were waiting for a bus in some backwater town deep in the heart of Brazil, we made our bucket list.  She wrote on one side of the paper, and I wrote on the other.  After our epic voyage, I found the list in the bottom of my backpack, and have carried it with me ever since. In no particular order, I present to you the traveler’s buck list:

  • Catamaran in Fiji
  • Capoiera and Samba in Brazil
  • Training horses in Spain
  • Ashram and Poi in India
  • Marathon in South Africa
  • Field research in Madagascar
  • Wine tours in Europe
  • Cheese in France
  • Stomp grapes in Italy
  • Windsurfing in New Caldonia
  • Scuba in Belize/Great Barrier Reef
  • Bike across the US
  • Wildlife refuge in Kenya
  • Island hopping in Greece
  • VW van in Australia
  • Pick fruit in New Zealand
  • Backpack Torres del Pine
  • Mount Kilimanjaro
  • Bagpipes in Scotland
  • Trans-Siberian Railway
  • Take on lovers in Brazil, France, Spain, Italy, Israel, etc….

What’s on your list?  What do you want to do before you die?

Photo via Chris Jones

4 Responses to “The Bucket List”

  1. kathy morris January 11, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    I came across your blog by accident; I was seeking rice paddy photos. Must say: Incredible photos, lovely writing.

  2. lanchas usadas April 14, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I want to take a six hour uninterrupted nap. This living thing is too exhausting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012= The End of Liminality? « Constant Nomad - January 8, 2012

    […] trip, I wonder how I will fulfill my life-long dream of working at a winery in Italy, I think about my bucket list with a feverish […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

