Hobbling about

13 Oct

The day after the marathon finds me lying in bed, cringing every time I move and hobbling about the house.  I’m in some serious pain, but it’s nothing compared to yesterday.  After I finish a marathon (and this was only my third, mind you) I typically am incapable of doing anything for the rest of the day.  Something about running 26.2 miles as fast as you can really does a number on my body.

into the pounding sun on Long Beach

into the pounding sun on Long Beach

So thank god it’s over.  I survived, and I even managed to create a new personal record for myself!  Even though I only beat my best marathon time by 45 seconds, I’m still pretty darn happy with my time.  I started out fast (about 8:30 miles) and then around mile 13 slowed down to a dismal 9:40 per mile pace, but that was still good enough for 4 hours overall.

Now I just have to cut 15 minutes off my time to qualify for Boston, yikes.  I was 12th in my age division and among the top 20% of all finishers.  Now that’s something to be proud of.  Time for a beer!

One Response to “Hobbling about”

  1. mom October 13, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    I hope your pain subsides soon but I guess its only normal to feel some pain after all those miles. So glad you made it and did so well too!! My best to Felicia and love all of your photos and articles.

Leave a Reply

