Into the Haze

25 Jan
I live here?

I live here?

A few weeks ago, I flew into Mexico City for the first time during the day.  For those of you unfamiliar with the Mexico City airport, it was originally built far from the center of the city on the outskirts of town.  Yet the city has expanded so greatly and such a rapid pace that the airport has become swallowed up in the massive urban jungle, and is now located practically in the center of town.  The airport is a short 30 minute taxi ride from my house, and flying into the city is an experience unlike any other.  The buildings go on for miles, covered by a thick haze of smog.  As you approach the city and start to descend, you can literally see the swaths of haze that blanket the city:

img_1758

It felt strangely disorienting flying into the haze, my mind became blurred and my stomach twisted into knots.  Do I really live here?  A million thoughts swirled through my head as we slowly flew across the rows and rows of houses, containing countless lives and stories, as we glided above a city where millions struggle every day to get ahead.  When the plane touched down on the runway, however, I knew that I was home.  As I fell in step with the crowds of people waiting in line at immigration, once again I became a faceless part of the masses that inhabit this great city.  My struggle here is just one of many, and somehow that feels comforting.  Even when my vision becomes blurred by the smog and my thoughts grow as a scattered as the piles of trash that accumulate on every street, I remain eternally grateful for all the city has to teach me, and for everything I have learned so far.

2 Responses to “Into the Haze”

  1. Jani February 2, 2009 at 3:00 am #

    I love DF even though it’s hard to live there, many people, pollution, the city is stressful itself.

  2. Hector Macias Ayala September 17, 2009 at 1:18 am #

    I flew once into this big city which I also have to call home, and I actually like it.

    Unfortunately didnt get the chance to seat by the window. (Thanks Aeromexico, will never use your airline again). haha.

Leave a Reply

