High Heels in the Jungle

29 Oct

I dream about wearing classy boots with a cute pea coat, hot stilettos with a mini skirt, or peep toe heels with a little black dress.  I fantasize about slipping into a classy pair of heels, putting on some bright red lipstick, and slipping out the door for a night on the town.

41TIsgrXZlL._SS400_Unfortunately, dreams of fancy heels and cute dresses are lost in the mud that surrounds me.  I live in the jungle, and even though I might love dressing up and sipping martinis, the reality of my current life involves flip flops, lots of sweat, and a simple summer dress or cut offs.  There are small things I can do to make myself feel more beautiful, like wearing a pair of cute earrings or throwing on some mascara, but the reality is that I’m pretty much a wreck (and a very sweaty wreck at that) most of the time.  I wonder if I’m cut out to live like this much longer, but I also wonder at what point did I turn into such a cosmopolitan girl?

51gc0jPSuYL._SS500_

God I love peep toes

As a girl, I was a total tomboy who never even brushed my hair and preferred my red rubber farm boots and playing with the goats to tea parties or dress up.  In college, my uniform usually consisted of sweat pants and a tank top I’d throw on after cross country practice and I don’t even think I knew how to use mascara or owned a pair of heels.  Yet while I was in Mexico City busy attending fancy art openings and parties, I suddenly became a glamor girl, or at least a wanna be glamor girl.  Like a little girl trying on her mom’s lipstick for the first time, I was magically enamored with buying fashion magazines, trying out new makeup, and, of course, waltzing about the house in high heels while I cooked dinner.

Lagunita-Palofitas-Casa 021

Not meant for heels

Before I knew it, I was on a plane headed south (way south) of the border and living in the jungle.  While my current surroundings are breathtakingly beautiful, you can’t exactly walk around here in heels.  I’ll just have to wait for Christmas to do that again.  In the meantime. I’ve been spending quite a bit of time shoe shopping online and planning outfits for my return.  I’m thinking classy leather boots, a black blazer, and my silver pashmina.  Can’t wait for New York City.

2 Responses to “High Heels in the Jungle”

  1. onlyinhighheels November 1, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    You certainly live in a gorgeous locale. The Louboutin’s above would no doubt look lovely on you. If you ever find yourself in a pair of wonderful heels I hope you post photos so we can see that you have lived your dream. Good luck in all your future endeavors.

  2. Ken August 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    My wife and I took a trip to Guatemala a few years ago. We to an excursion by boat up the Rio Dulce she was not prepared. Our guide took us on a side trip through the jungle to see some of the locals. She was wearing high heels that day. I took a picture of her on the trail and named the picture HIGH HEELS IN THE JUNGLE. It was so fitting. Anyways, live your story.

Leave a Reply

