A weekend in Belize!

13 Nov

BELIZE!!! 077

This weekend I jetted across the ocean to my neighbor and the only country in Latin America populated with English speakers, Belize.  I stayed in Punta Gorda, which is a small town in Southern Belize on the ocean full of easy-going locals, creole, and some really expensive beer (ok well at least compared to Guatemalan prices it was outrageous).  I had the good fortune to be staying with a crew of young Belizians who were more then happy to show me around their home town.  Punta Gorda is a lot Livingston, except a bit more developed.  It is still dirt-poor, but they have a university and an airport (ok it’s really more like a strip of dirt and a trailer, but still… they have daily flights!!).

BELIZE!!! 018

The highlight of my trip was definitely my visit to San Pedro Columbia, a tiny village in the mountains where my friends grew up.  To get their house, we had to hike 30 minutes through the mud and the jungle, but man was the view at the top worth it.  I was treated like a queen and loved meeting this funky family that grew up in the jungle.

BELIZE!!! 020

To be honest, it reminded me a lot of my own upbringing.  I grew up on a farm in the mountains, was homeschooled for a few years, and had parents who believed in choosing a different path to life besides capitalism and consumption.  Yet this family has really taken it to the next level- they live in the middle of the jungle, homeschool all their children, and grow pretty much everything they need to eat on their farm.  It really is a sustainable operation, and to top it all off they were some of the nicest people I have ever met.  Afterwords we went to visit the famous Lubaantun ruins, a mystical site in the jungle where they unearthed a crystal skull.

BELIZE!!! 041

While my time in Belize was short and I only saw Punta Gorda and the village of Columbia, I really loved the country and was amazed at how friendly everybody was.  I know I will return to check out the beaches up North and dive Blue Hole, but this was probably the most fabulous introduction to the country I could have had.

One Response to “A weekend in Belize!”

  1. paul November 20, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Not to be a Debbie Downer, but they also speak English in Guyana.

Leave a Reply

