The Nomadic Life

2 Jun

I think the realization hit me the day I wanted to remember the lines of an old poem I had written.  I wrote it when I was a freshman at NYU, and while I used to repeat it to myself as I wandered the mad streets of New York, all I could remember were the first two lines:

“I have become a sunbeam chaser,

a false face maker,  …”

The poem was, of course, written down in my journal from freshman year, packed away in a box full of books in my childhood room at my mother’s house.  It was the first time in a long time I had actually wanted one of my possessions that, like almost everything I own, is packed away in storage.  But the true irony was that all I really wanted was to remember the poem- I didn’t actually need or want the journal or the box of books.

I have lived in so many hostels and bunk beds and out of so many suitcases that sometimes I wonder if I will ever really unpack.  I have become comfortable living a minimalistic lifestyle, and I have discovered that you really don’t need to own things to be content.  When I went to Haiti for a month all I brought with me was one small backpack, and the whole time I was there I can barely recall wanting anything I did not have.

The poem is the first thing of mine I’ve wanted in a long time, and yet it isn’t even a tangible possession.  I do dream about having my own space, painting my own walls, and even planting an herb garden and some sunflowers in my very own yard, but for now I am beginning to realize that all I need is a change of clothes, a toothbrush, and my backpack.  And that, my friends, is a beautiful feeling.

4 Responses to “The Nomadic Life”

  1. okeowo June 3, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Amen.

  2. Johno June 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Beautifully put!! Absolutely love this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My biggest adventure yet « Gente Mal - September 20, 2010

    […] possessions are taking up room in my life, and I have never felt so trapped and so far removed from the nomadic lifestyle I have come to […]

  2. The Global Movement of People « Gente Mal - October 11, 2010

    […] a constant nomad myself, I can’t help but identify with people who leave their homeland in search of something […]

Leave a Reply

