Mexican Soul Food

8 Jun

Some of the best Mexican food never appears in America unless it’s in somebody’s kitchen, and I ask myself why all the time.  I no longer live in Mexico, but my mouth waters every time I think about Chiles en Nogada, especially when they are “hecho en casa,” topped with an almond sauce and pomegranate seeds and served with some sangria and a pastel imposible, or an “impossible cake”.

Maybe I’ll just have to start my own Mexican restaurant with a menu full of Mexican soul food.  I’d serve food like Pozole and Cochinita Pibil and drinks like Atole and Agua de Jamaica.  My tortillas would always be made by hand from freshly ground corn masa and my tacos would always be served with queso fresco and never with (horror of horrors!) cheddar cheese.

Leave a Reply

