Mi Buenos Aires Querido

8 Jun

Buenos Aires has always captured my heart and imagination in a way that no other city in the world has.  Mixing European sophistication with Latin American charm and culture, Buenos Aires brings together tango, opera, great steak and fabulous wine and pairs it all with some of the most stylish, intelligent, and beautiful people on the planet.

Before I ever stepped foot in el DF or even crossed the border into Mexico, I was learning castellano and roaming the streets of Palermo as a young and bright-eyed exchange student.  I fell in love with a boy, but I also fell in love with a city.  I have been back twice since those innocent months so many years ago, and each time I return I feel a magnetic pull calling me to stay, to put down my suitcases and end my nomadic ways.

I recently watched a brilliant Argentine film, El Secreto de sus Ojos, which mostly takes place in Buenos Aires.   Just listening to the actors speak and hearing their melodic porteno accents, I could feel my heart being pulled to the Southern hemisphere and towards that magical city yet again.  I arrived home after the movie to a serendipitous and telling message from one of my dear Argentine friends.  The subject line simply said, “Teatro Colon,” which is one of my very favorite places to go and one of the top five opera houses in the world.  He was writing to tell me that after three and half years of renovations, they have finally re-opened the grand old theater.  I guess now I really have no excuse not to book my ticket.

One Response to “Mi Buenos Aires Querido”

  1. Alexandra Armstrong June 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I went to Buenos Aires and Rosario in 2006, and can’t wait to go back. Looking forward to seeing pictures of your next trip there 🙂

Leave a Reply

