My biggest adventure yet

20 Sep

My new home?

For those of you who know my affinity for traveling and crazy adventures like volunteering at a migrant shelter in Ciudad Juarez, heading to post-earthquake Haiti, or soaking up the Caribbean sun in Tulum, you will understand all the more profoundly why my latest major life shift has become my biggest adventure yet.  In the past four years since I’ve graduated college, I’ve traveled to over 20 countries, lived in countless cities throughout the world, and had some amazing adventures, yet I also have not stayed at a job for longer then 6 months.  My resume is suffering, and so, for that matter, is my bank account.  So, I decided to do something about it, and I got a real office job in a regular American city.

So yes, I am living in the United States of America, where I report to work inside a building every day and sit in front of computer for 8 hours.  This concept is terrifying to me on so many levels, and as much as I’ve been struggling to come to terms with my life I have to admit that the first few weeks have been incredibly difficult to get through.  I have done things in the past few weeks that blow my mind, such as go to Ikea and buy furniture, hang pictures on my walls, buy professional clothes for work, and be exposed to more florescent lighting then sunshine.  And yes, all of this is good for me and, according to most people, the “adult” thing to do.  But all this furniture in my room is weighting me down, all these new possessions are taking up room in my life, and I have never felt so trapped and so far removed from the nomadic lifestyle I have come to love.

It’s only been two weeks so far, and I should probably preface this tirade by explaining that my office job is not exactly your typical 9-5 (and actually to support a cause I am extremely passionate about) , but something deep inside feels like its dying a slow and painful death, struggling to breathe, and kicking and screaming the whole way down.  I am big fan of being at peace with my life, and so I have been doing lots of yoga, deep contemplation, and creative brainstorming about ways in which to add some spontaneity and magic to the daily grind.

2 Responses to “My biggest adventure yet”

  1. Joséf September 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    This too shall pass.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Embracing the now: Learning to live beyond the liminal « Constant Nomad - January 29, 2011

    […] truly is my biggest adventure yet,and the daily grind of the office lifestyle is often more frightening to me than facing down […]

Leave a Reply

